Tis the Season

christmas-tree-2

As I foolishly agreed to go to Walmart on Friday morning at 5 am, I came to grips with the fact it’s really here…..the Christmas shopping season. What happened to October?

It seems like we’re always anticipating the next season. I think we all look forward to Spring when the freeze of Winter has us in its grip. I get my hopes up in February when the trees bud after a brief warm-up; only to be brought back to reality with the next frigid blast from Canada. Springtime is fickle, giving us glimpses of Summer to come, yet reminding us that Winter is not completely behind us. June can’t get here fast enough. By the time the August heat rolls around, I’m ready for bonfire weather, complete with sweatshirts and hot chocolate. I do, however feel sorry for my neighbor, as he gets all of my falling leaves. A couple of weeks ago as I was pulling into my driveway, there he was with a leaf-blower, blowing them all back into my yard (with a smile on his face, of course).

Fall is the time of year that seems to bring the most contentment. The beauty of the changing leaves, and the crispness of the autumn air, causes us to want it to hang around a little longer. As October’s beauty gives way to the nakedness of November’s cold, our thoughts begin to gravitate towards Thanksgiving and Christmas. Who of us doesn’t yearn for the warmth of heart that these family holidays bring; and the anticipation that comes from making plans to see family and friends…not to mention the hope that snow will be falling when you get up on Christmas morning.

Our secular society has done its best to steal Christmas. Removing “Christmas” from advertising should upset us, but it shouldn’t rob us of the reality of God’s Truth, that He sent his only Son; to be born of a virgin; to live a perfect life; and die sacrificially for you and me, so that we can stand clean before Him.

In this wonderful season of Christmas, as we enjoy the decorations, lights, school programs, special gatherings, and other warm & fuzzy things, let us remember… “For there is born to you this day in the City of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.” Luke 2:11. Have a wonderful holiday season.

Brian

~ by Brian on November 30, 2008.

2 Responses to “Tis the Season”

  1. I was also one of the 5AM shoppers at WalMart. What a person will do for $4 sleep pants! They say that time passes quickly, as we grow older. With each season it gives us something to look forward to. I know I am looking forward to snow, then the green grass, hot summer sun, autumn leaves and then we are back to winter again. God has a way of making every season beautiful….even the nakedness of November.

  2. It’s good to know

Leave a comment